Fixed the Norwegian bug

Wednesday, 26th April at 12:58 pm 11 comments

I think I've fixed the ViewMyCurrency install problem on the Norwegian version of Firefox.

If you were affected by this problem then please try again using the alpha-version on the install page. (I simply replaced the buggy version)

Thanks for the mention on DinSide.no and to the users who reported the bug.

For Geeks:

The Norwegian version of Firefox, v 1.5.0.2 nb-NO defaults to the following accept-languages "en-gb,en,nn". I was expecting to see something like "nn-no" (language code + country code). And in fact, since the browser is called nb-NO, shouldn't the accepted languages include "nb" for Bokmål rather than just "nn" Nynorsk?

Entry filed under: releases.

We Now Resume Our Regular Programming… BarCampBrussels

11 Comments

  • 1. Ebbe Kristensen  |  Wednesday, 7th June at 9:03 am

    Hi Will

    It seems that with the latest revison of Firefox, the setup wizard for the latest alpha release of ViewMyCurrency won’t finish, at least on my system.

    Firefox info:
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060508 Firefox/1.5.0.4
    Other extensions:
    – Addblock
    – IE Tab
    – Image Zoom
    – Smart WhoIs Launcher
    – SpoofStick
    – Organize Status Bar
    – PageBookmarks
    – Google Toolbar for Firefox
    – keyconfig

    If you cannot reproduce the error, then at least receive my thanks for having made a very nifty extension. It was good while it lasted 🙂

    Ebbe

  • 2. Berna  |  Wednesday, 14th June at 7:52 pm

    I love ViewMyCurrency! Is there any chance of making it available for Thunderbird as well?

  • 3. Will Moffat  |  Thursday, 15th June at 12:53 am

    Hi Berna, thanks for the positive feedback 🙂 In theory it should be possible to modify ViewMyCurrency for Thunderbird but I guess that might take some work. I’ve added it to the ToDo list.

  • 4. Praveen  |  Friday, 16th June at 8:04 am

    Hey Will,

    This is a gr8 extension and I use it regularly. But, recently after I installed Google Sync Browser extension. I get the following error.
    “Failed to find GUI element WLL_hideOriginal”
    This error vanishes once I disable Google Sync browser. I thought I should give u a heads up.

    Again, Thanks for a gr8 extension.

    Praveen

  • 5. Will Moffat  |  Saturday, 17th June at 8:33 am

    Hi Praveen, thanks for your comments. I’ve added the Google Sync bug to my todo list. I’ll try and fix it soon.

  • 6. Agagooga  |  Wednesday, 28th June at 10:46 pm

    Can old Alphas be released? I hate the rounding of results (I like precision) but don’t want to revert to the latest official version because it’s too old.

  • 7. Will Moffat  |  Thursday, 29th June at 7:55 am

    Hi Agagooga,

    Can you give me an example of when the rounding is inappropriate or just wrong? Then I can improve it in future release.

    But to help you now, I released the old alphas. You can download them like this:
    http://hamstersoup.com/ViewMyCurrency/ViewMyCurrency_v0.3894.xpi

    Replace the version digits 3894 to get one of these older versions:
    382, 384, 385, 386, 387, 388, 389, 3891, 3892, 3893, 3894

  • 8. Agagooga  |  Monday, 31st July at 1:33 pm

    Hi

    Sorry for the tardy reply. Was backpacking for a month.

    My beef is not with inaccurate/wrong rounding – I just like exact figures as a matter of fact. Maybe I’m anal 😉

  • 9. cardil  |  Monday, 18th September at 11:37 pm

    Hi. I’m from Poland. Why there is no Polish Zloty in the list? There are some smaller countries but there is no Poland!!! I will be using this ext if you can add Polish Zloty to the list!

  • 10. cardil  |  Tuesday, 19th September at 12:15 am

    UPS! I downloaded alpha! Great software. MUST HAVE RANK! thx man!

  • 11. viktor  |  Wednesday, 4th October at 9:42 am

    Hey, great extension..
    would be great if you could ad the ability to change the symbol of your local currency, since swedish usualy is marked as kr not ur (default) it would be great to change that…



