ViewMyCurrency – Today’s Browser Tip on Download Squad

Thursday, 16th February at 10:40 am 12 comments

ViewMyCurrency is Today’s Browser Tip on Download Squad. Very cool to get a mention on a blog I read daily!

I said yesterday that I was happy to maintain a small but enthusiastic user-base until ViewMyCurrency comes out of beta. But I guess the number of users is going to grow a bit faster than I was expecting!

Welcome Download Squad readers. If you have installed ViewMyCurrency then I would be very happy to get your feedback. Feel free to add your comments below. (You might want to read over my ToDo list).

Entry filed under: Feedback.

ViewMyCurrency is spreading Firefox Currency Converter – ViewMyCurrency 0.3891 (alpha) released

12 Comments

  • 1. krishna kumar  |  Thursday, 16th February at 1:38 pm

    first of all, great tool. very useful for an indian like me who window shops amazon from my browser.
    one suggestion – the symbol for the indian rupee is Rs and not Rp. If you can make that change in the next version, it’ll be great.
    And the spellings are wrong is some places – like, currency is spelt wrong in the ‘select source currencies’ window.

  • 2. Will Moffat  |  Thursday, 16th February at 1:55 pm

    Hi Krishna. Oops … thanks for pointing out the spelling mistakes.
    I’m using Unicode Character ‘RUPEE SIGN’ (U+20A8) as the symbol for INR so I suspect that it’s a font problem. I see the incorrect Rp in the StatusBarPanel but the correct Rs on webpages. Is it the same for you?

  • 3. Francesco  |  Thursday, 16th February at 1:57 pm

    Hi, I’ve installed your extension (vers.0.38), but it does not work with my Firefox (vers. 1.5.0.1).
    An alert keeps popping out with this error message:
    ViewMyCurrency: Failed to find GUI element WILL_hideOriginal

    What should I do?

    Francesco

  • 4. Will Moffat  |  Thursday, 16th February at 2:00 pm

    Hi Francesco. Could you try my latest alpha-release on https://viewmycurrency.wordpress.com/install/ as there have been many bug-fixes since the last official release on Mozilla Update.

    I would be interested to hear from anybody else who has this problem with the old official version.

  • 5. Francesco  |  Thursday, 16th February at 2:10 pm

    Perfect.
    I installed the latest alpha and now everything works.
    Great extension.

    Francesco

  • 6. Pรคr Dahlberg  |  Thursday, 16th February at 3:59 pm

    Great extension! Seems to work very well ๐Ÿ™‚
    Now I just need a similar time conversion extension too since I never can remember what “4am PST” etc. is in GMT format! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 7. Will Moffat  |  Thursday, 16th February at 4:02 pm

    Hi Pรคr: time conversion is a great idea. Added to the growing ToDo list. Thanks!

  • 8. Carlo  |  Friday, 17th February at 11:05 am

    This is just brilliant! Anyhoo, just dropping by to say thanks a bunch for this useful extension ๐Ÿ˜€

    Regards from Taiwan ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 9. Will Moffat  |  Friday, 17th February at 11:13 am

    Thanks Carlo. It’s cool to think that people are using this all over the world ๐Ÿ™‚
    That reminds me, I better add localisation to the ToDo list.

  • 10. Carlo  |  Friday, 17th February at 3:19 pm

    That would be super, Will. Just let me know if you need help in translating to Chinese Traditional and Indonesian, I’d do my best to help! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • 11. Claes  |  Saturday, 18th February at 11:31 am

    Hi again, Will. Thanks so much for the help last time! A suggestion for future releases is an option to make the prices automatically round up/down to the nearest full currency unit. Because for currencies where the full units are of less value than for instance USD, GBP or EUR, the decimals are more of an eyesore than a help. Keep up the great work!

  • 12. Christopher Proudlove  |  Friday, 24th February at 4:04 pm

    Will
    I write about the international fine art market (see http://www.writeantiques.com) and used to spend ages going backwards and forward from XE.com doing currency conversions for my work. Your extension has revolutionsed my life and I am hugely grateful.
    Could I possibly add my own request to your growing list (and apologies if it’s already there): is it possible to make the extension “remember” the last conversion it did for a user. Chances are if you need one conversion from US dollars to GP pounds (or vice versa) you’ll need more of the same – if you’re window shopping, or online bidding, or constantly writing about international prices like me.
    With that added extra, it would save the tedium of having to seach through your excellent comprehensive list for USD and GBP each time.
    I’ll leave the thought with you and thanks again for a great tool.
    Chris



